3.1.1 - Microsoft/FFDShow/CyberLink SD codec issue

General discussion . (Do not post bug reports or feature requests in this section!)

Moderators: FredB, X05, Dreamer

User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

3.1.1 - Microsoft/FFDShow/CyberLink SD codec issue

Postby Dreamer » Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:37 am

Microsoft codec v06.2.14393.187 - 07.09.2016 doesn't work with any renderer for SD, I have just black screen and sound.

Same codec works perfect for HD (H.264).

DD 3.1.1, Windows 10 x64.

Dreamer
User avatar
rel
relocation
Posts: 2006
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:50 am

Re: 3.1.1 - Microsoft SD codec issue

Postby rel » Thu Sep 22, 2016 10:42 am

Windows 10 limited some Microsoft codecs as far as I know, only to its own players (because of license fees I think). They work fine on Windows 7, but not in Windows 10. (H264, MPEG2, AAC etc have different licensing for Microsoft)
DVB Dream - because I have to dream about having time to code it
User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: 3.1.1 - Microsoft SD codec issue

Postby Dreamer » Thu Sep 22, 2016 12:28 pm

What about other versions, perhaps I could use older version for SD? LAV has a problem with low signal, no picture for several seconds.
Dreamer
User avatar
rel
relocation
Posts: 2006
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:50 am

Re: 3.1.1 - Microsoft SD codec issue

Postby rel » Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:06 pm

you can try.
Attached mpeg2 codecs taken from my windows 7 64 bit installation (but codec files are 32 bit versions, from SysWOW64 folder)

These DLLs might need other DLLs as well and might not work, I'm not sure.

Description: Microsoft
Version: 12.0.9200.141 Date: 09.12.2015
Path: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\msmpeg2vdec.dll
Attachments
ms_mpeg2_sd_and_audio_codecs_from_win7.rar
(1.32 MiB) Downloaded 57 times
DVB Dream - because I have to dream about having time to code it
User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: 3.1.1 - Microsoft SD codec issue

Postby Dreamer » Fri Sep 23, 2016 4:02 pm

Thanks, I tried to copy the files to that folder, but I have no access, even with run as admin, can't copy, rename or delete anything there, perhaps I'll try to do it in safe mode.

Is there any way how to use those codecs in DD, if they will be placed in other folder?
Dreamer
User avatar
rel
relocation
Posts: 2006
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:50 am

Re: 3.1.1 - Microsoft SD codec issue

Postby rel » Sat Sep 24, 2016 3:24 am

You can try to register it as a codec from any other folder I think.

Try to use DSFMgr tool (to deregister current filter and register the Windows 7 one)
or just command line "regsvr32 msmpeg2vdec.dll"
Attachments
DSFMgr.exe
(269 KiB) Downloaded 46 times
DVB Dream - because I have to dream about having time to code it
User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: 3.1.1 - Microsoft SD codec issue

Postby Dreamer » Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:34 am

OK, so it looks it's not only the MS codec issue.

I have the same results with these codecs (black screen with any renderer, SD only).

Microsoft (v6.2.14393.185 - 04.03.2017)
CyberLink (v4.0.0.113 - 17.12.2002)
FFDShow (v1.3.4532.0 - 17.07.2014)

Some other codecs work only with some renderers, but these don't work with any.

Important for me is FFDShow, is there any working version, older or newer?

DD 3.3, Windows 10 x64.

Topic renamed to "3.1.1 - Microsoft/FFDShow/CyberLink SD codec issue".
Dreamer
User avatar
Dreamer
Moderator
Posts: 1204
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 5:46 pm
Location: Slovakia

Re: 3.1.1 - Microsoft/FFDShow/CyberLink SD codec issue

Postby Dreamer » Sun Jun 25, 2017 4:45 am

FFDShow works now also with SD channels, I changed some options in ffdshow.
Dreamer

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests